World Food Programme (WPF) is the winner of today’s Nobel prize 2020 in Peace for their work of supplying food in Global hunger during the time of the Corona Pandemic.

The Nobel Committee said that the work by the WPF organization, a United Nations Agency to address global hunger laid the foundation for peace in nations ravaged by war.

The World Food Programme is the largest organization to address Global hunger and promote food security globally. Last year WPF assist about 100 million people in 88 countries.

The World Food Programme, established in 1961 on the proposal of President Dwight D. Eisenhower. WPF is the largest supporting organization at the time of starvation and helping people affected by some of the world’s most devastating humanitarian disasters, including famine in Ethiopia in the 1980s, wars in Yugoslavia in the 1990s, the 2004 Asian tsunami, and the 2010 Haiti earthquake.

Nobel prize 2020 in Peace

Berit Reiss-Andersen the chairperson of the Norwegian Nobel Committee said while announcing the award winners in Oslo “In the time of the global pandemic, the World Food Program has demonstrated an impressive ability to intensify its efforts, to supply the Food and help to decrease the number of people living under the condition of Starvation”.

WPF has awarded with prize money of 10 Million Swedish Kronor (£870,000) by the Nobel prize Committee as the winner of the Nobel Prize 2020 in Peace.

David Beasley, the World Food Program’s executive director, said in a tweet posted in his official Twitter handling that “his organization was deeply humbled to receive the award.”

He also added some lines saying that “This is the first time I’ve been speechless, The main credit for the award has given to the staff members for their hard work”.

“They’re out there in the most difficult, complex places in the world — whether its war, conflict, climate extremes, it doesn’t matter. They’re out there and they deserve this award.”

This year Nobel Prize winners Till now

This week on Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize for physiology and medicine to American Scientists Harvey J. Alter and Charles M. Rice and a British scientist Michael Houghton for discovering about the virus Hepatitis C.

On Tuesday the Nobel Prize in Physics award was given to British Scientist Roger Penrose, German Scientist Reinhard Genzel and American Scientist Andrea Ghez for there excellent work in the Formation of Blackhole.

On Wednesday the Nobel prize in Chemistry award was given to a French Scientist Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A an American Scientist for their work in developing the Genome Editing Tool that offers a promise of curing genetic diseases.

Yesterday on Thursday Nobel prize in Literature award was given to Louise Glück for her unmistakable poetic voice that with “austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”


Anime lover 😍

Leave A Reply

Exit mobile version